40 Water Rats Make the CT Top 16 for the 2017-2018 Swim Year

Forty swimmers who swam with the Water Rats during all or part of the 2017-2018 Swim Year were named as Top 16 Connecticut Swimmers.  They include:

Ella Gussen
Tatum Murray
Annam Olasewere
Ayaan Olasewere
Michael Ivanov
RJ Kickham
Brendan Leahy
Thomas Lake
Kathleen Murray
Kelly Leahy
Parker Lenoce
Riley Twiss
Caroline Begg
Claire Kehley
Ashlyn Blessey
Emmett Adams
Marissa Healy
Esme Hunter
Lily Kernaghan
Michelle Kennedy
Mia Fraas
John McNab
Austin Twiss
Richard Nolan
Sarah Grinalds
Simona Visinski
Kay Begg
Monica Koubeck
Willow Woods
Caroline Sargent
Jack Gray
Nicolas Ortega
Jake Ritz
Scott Adler
Jacob West
Dashiell Hunter
Blake Rainey
Alec Keblish
Bryce Keblish
Katie Thornton

Each of the above listed swimmers has been invited to the Connecticut Swimming Awards Banquet on November 4, 2018 at the Aqua Turf Club.  The Awards Banquet is held to recognize swimmers for achieving a Top 16 time in an individual event for each age group from a meet during the 2017-2018 Short Course season and the 2018 Long Course season.

The Awards Banquet also recognizes Connecticut Swimming Scholar Athletes.  For the 2017-2018 seasons, seven Water Rats have been named as Scholar Athletes. They are: Colin Corneck, Marissa Healy, Alec Keblish, Michelle Kennedy, Justin Lovro, Jake Ritz, and Richard Nolan. To be eligible to be a scholar athlete a swimmer must be in 10th, 11th or 12th grade, have a minimum GPA of 3.5, and have swum at the 2017 Long Course Championships, the 2017-2018 Short Course Senior Championships, or two regular season meets in the 2017 Long Course Season or 3 regular season meets in the 2017-2018 Short Course Season.

Marissa were also named as a member of the USA Swimming Scholastic All America Team for the second year in a row.  To receive this award, swimmers must have a minimum GPA of 3.5 and one or more 2017 Winter Junior Nationals qualifying times.

Congratulations to all the Water Rats for receiving these honors.